Flushed Fawn

I was on a job-site along the Patuxent River in Laurel, Maryland, and came upon a baby whitetail deer fawn.

I’ve encountered this several times over many years in the woods, but never with a camera in my hands.  The fawn will not move unless you are obnoxious or about to step on her.  Mom is elsewhere in the woods feeding, and it is standard practice for the mother to “step away for a bit.”

I was walking to a location to fly my DJI Mavic Pro drone to get some aerial photos of a wetland creation mitigation project that our firm is working on.  I had my camera over my shoulders and the drone and controller in my hands.

The fawn did not want to look up for fear knowing that I was right behind her in touching range, and crouching down for the close-up, attempting to get the best picture through the tall grass.

If I move to the right she will bolt to the woods, but if I move to her left, she will be forced to head for the wetland shoreline, and more opportunity for flushing photos.

Well hello, don’t be frightened . . . and she sprung into action for the run.

She ran straight for the water and then a hard left to follow the dry shoreline.

At about 30-feet out she stopped to look back and saw that I was not a threat, nor in pursuit.

She then lost interest and quite relaxed, ambled out of sight.

Well, how opportunistic, I needed an open area to launch my drone without the propellers cutting grass or getting clogged like a weed trimmer, and the deer provided the perfectly matted down grass bed for take-off.

The following is one of several aerial photos of our wetland mitigation site, which includes a few other wetland creation cell locations, wetland enhancement of existing wetlands, invasive plant management and reforestation.

 

 

 

