Pointed Blue-Eyed Grass

I did a wetlands/waters delineation near Waldorf, Maryland, of a tributary of Mattawoman Creek (Piney Run).  Early in the morning near where I parked my truck, I noticed several patches of Blue-Eyed Grass (Sisyrinchium angustifolium) along a sunny forest edge.  A few flowers were in bloom, and I did not give them much thought.

On my return to the truck a few hours later, it was as if all the aggregates came into full bloom, and rather than a few individual flowers, entire clusters appeared at the peak of their possible display.  How wonderful, as I’ve never seen this level of abundance in nature.  It was photo time!

The site soil conditions were dry, depauperate, loamy sands with little O/A-horizon development, a sunny edge of a Virginia pine dominated forest stand.

Blue-eyed grass is actually not a grass at all, but rather in the lily family.

Maryland has four species of closely related blue-eyed grass species, with this Sisyrinchium angustifolium being the most common.

I have come to understand that this plant has recently become popular in horticulture and is available, primarily through catalog sales, such as White Flower Farm, where pint containers of S. angustifolium can be had at $15 each.  I have lots of full sun, poor soil conditions around my home, and I’ll have to consider these within my perennial gardens.

 

 

 

