Ruby-Throated Hummingbird

Wow, am I happy with my new telephoto lens!

Please remember that you can click on an image to enlarge it, and then click your back-button to go back to the article.

MFB_5169

This August 2016, I purchased the AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm f/56.6E ED VR lens for my Nikon D7100 camera, and all of these hummingbird photos were taken with the new lens.

MFB_5168

I now feel that I am complete with my lens choices, having my trusty go-to AF-S Nikkor 18-300 1:3.5-5.6G ED VR, which is what I use 90% of the time, and then also a AF-S Micro Nikkor 85mm 1:3.5G ED VR lens for close-up’s.

MFB_5167

The lens gives outstanding telephoto photographs, as long as I have good lighting, which was the case for these late afternoon photos.  The closest you can be from an image is about eight feet away, as this is the point at which an image will first come into focus.  These photos were taken from 35 feet away, as I hid along the side of my backyard deck, with the feeder at our dining room window.

MFB_5163

My wife put in a fresh batch of sugar water in the feeder, at a ratio of four parts water and one part sugar.  Late this afternoon the hummingbirds were rotating through.

MFB_5192

This photo is the male Ruby-Throated Hummingbird (Archilochus colubris).  The four photos above are the female, lacking the ruby-colored throat.

MFB_5193

The feeder is quite busy, as we keep fresh sugar water in them.  These breeding birds will be leaving in September for their trek to over-winter in Central America, and then back again to Maryland in the spring, when azaleas are in bloom.

MFB_5191

I love these tiny guys and girls!

 

 

 

