Clarksville to Crofton with a Gray Tree Frog

While driving into work this morning I noticed a common gray tree frog (Hyla versicolor) on the hood of my truck.  The faster I drove, the more the frog would hunker down in the cubby area of my windshield wipers.  The slower I went, and he would pop-up to look around.

377

The best that I can surmise is that last night I parked in my driveway instead of the garage.  We had the driveway spotlight on through the night, and the frog was attracted to the bounty of nighttime insects.  Being on the hood of my truck, placed him closer to his quarry.

386

Once I got into work this morning, I did a photo shoot with my iPhone.  The gray tree frog is native to the eastern United States and has warty skin and prominent adhesive pads on its fingers and toes.  They average about 2-inchs in size and are nocturnal feeders.

389

The coolest feature of the gray tree frog is its ability to camouflage itself.  This species of frog can change color to match its environment (metachrosis), usually requiring about a half hour to do so.  I think the green tone of the frog was a beautiful compliment to the silver of my Ford F-150!

393

 

 

 

 

