The Fence Line

It’s time to band the bluebirds, for the second clutch of this growing season.  With all of August and September yet to come, maybe our local bluebird population will try for a third round of child rearing!

MFB_4767

Two males and two females.

MFB_4771

Banding a male.

MFB_4776

With six bluebird boxes on six acres, about 20% of the bluebirds I see on my property are banded.

MFB_4799

While we are working at the nesting box, a male bluebird patiently waits nearby to feed his young.

MFB_4764

The chipping sparrow watches all of the action along the fence line.

MFB_4809

Hey, what’s going on at your box?  Never you mind, just move along!

MFB_4802

OK, I’ve waited long enough, I’ve eaten the insects and caterpillar that I brought in for the young, and I’m starting to get a tad perturbed.  It’ time to walk away from the nesting box.

MFB_4786

And for the final shot of the late afternoon, I have a male goldfinch previewing the garden for a snack.

 

 

 

