Striped Bass Bonanza

Chesapeake Bay, Anne Arundel County, MD

DSC_2569

Dave and I were going to fish the Tuckahoe, but decided to try the Bay instead.  We launched from Sunrise Beach on the Severn (Joshua and Jessica’s home) and motored out past the U. S. Naval Academy and Annapolis, and into the open Bay.

DSC_2571

We caught spot, croaker, perch, hognose and well in excess of 100 striped bass.  It’s special whenever any of my fishing friends and I have a 30 or 50-fish day, but 130 hard-fighting striped bass, that’s amazing!

DSC_2576

I can count on one hand, other than charters, the number of times I’ve fished the open Chesapeake Bay.  Dave had a few secret spots on shoals, and then using spoon lures, fished a very specific way to produce and produce.

Running back and forth over a shoal to establish dimensions and depths, it became obvious on my fish-finder that the fish were tightly associated with the“bench” of the underwater slopes.

DSC_2577

I usually take lots of photos, but not today.  It was over 90-degrees and sunny, with a modest breeze.  It was virtually non-stop action.  The legal size for striped bass is 18-inches, and we probably caught ten to twelve of those.  We lost a few at the boat, and foul-hooked a few too.

DSC_2584

Dave and I both had pliers at each end of the boat, and it seemed like every other vertical jig cast produced a fish.  The bass were aggressive, and more often than not the fish would bite the treble hook in a manner to embed all three hooks.  The pliers were a must.  Not long into of fishing-fest, we crimped the barbs on our lures, so that we could just shake the fish off of the hook, and not do any damage to the fishes mouth.

DSC_2581

Twice I hooked into monster-sized fish and lost them near the boat on my spinning rod with 14-pound test.  In both cases my knot gave out, even though I caught several fish previously (mental note, leave a longer tag).  No broken line, just two knot failures that kept me from landing mega-lunkers.

DSC_2594

Most of our fish averaged 14 to 16-inches.  It was truly a bonanza!

DSC_2600

Dave had a hognose skate give him a run for the money.  The skate had Dave walking around the boat twice, and I was finally able to de-hook him and save the lure.

DSC_2609

Two thumbs-up (fins) for one of the most productive fishing days I’ve ever had on the water.  My arms are sore from casting and reeling.  It was sweaty, we had to drinks lots of water to stay hydrated.  I ran ice over my face and neck a few times.  When the fish are “on” like that, you don’t stop.  The Skiff did a great job out on the big, rolling water.

Thank you Dave for showing me how to use spoons, the specific techniques and science behind structure shoal fishing.  Great day on the water.

 

