Misty of Chincoteague

The Wild Horses of Assateague and Chincoteague Island, Maryland and Virgina Barrier Islands

DSC_0119

An afternoon boat trip on Sinepuxent Bay (Inter-Coastal Waterway), to site-see Assateague Island National Seashore and hopefully wild horses.

DSC_0131

Found grazing in tidal wetlands!

DSC_0132

Sweet!

DSC_0129

It’s Misty of Chincoteague.

DSC_0138

Captain Morgan.

DSC_0140

We liked the sun-lightened blonde manes.

DSC_0148

Brown pelicans, mixed with cormorants and gulls.

DSC_0156

Route 611 Verrazano Bridge in the background, which leads into the Assateague Island State Park campgrounds.

DSC_0168

I now known what shoaling means.  We had to balance the boat and use the trolling motor to get out of a patch of shallow water (1-foot deep at low tide) and back into the channel.

DSC_0179

I think the osprey questioned my boating skills as I beached the boat on a sand bar.  I’m used to having the Skiff travel in shallow water, but I must have a 1.6-foot clearance, as I usually draw 1.4-feet with the prop.  I’ve since corrected the issue by taking along a push pole.

DSC_0193

It was cool to watch this plane land directly over our heads.  It was great to see the wild ponies.

 

